Privacy is incredibly important to NSC. Biometric data - including mathematical representations of your face - is encrypted and protected. This data will be refined and updated as you use Face Recogniton to improve your experience, including when you successfully authenticate. Face Recognition will also update this data when it detects a close match but a passcode is subsequently entered to unlock the device.
Face Recognition data doesn’t leave your device and is never backed up.
If you choose to enroll in Face Recognition, you can control how it's used or disable it at any time. For example, if you don’t want to use Face Recognition to unlock your device, open Settings > Manage Users > [your user account] > Settings > Face Recognition > Configure > Un-Enroll. Doing so will delete Face Recognition data, including mathematical representations of your face, from your device.
Within supported devices, you can enable Face Recognition for authentication. Apps are only notified as to whether the authentication is successful. Apps can’t access Face Recognition data associated with the enrolled face.